Skip Navigation

The Rangeland Journal

The Society publishes The Rangeland Journal. Since 2005 the Journal has been produced by CSIRO Publishing. Six issues are published each year.

This is an International Journal for managing natural resources, improving remote living and sustaining businesses in unpredictable and harsh environments, especially in arid regions.

Key topics covered by the journal include:

Social-economic-ecological systems

  • Resilience of systems
  • Climate-soil-plant-animal-people interactions
  • Climate variability and change
  • Governance, policy and adaptive capacity
  • Remote living
  • Innovation

Ecological function and processes

  • Soil, plant and wildlife biology/ecology
  • Landscape ecology
  • Ecosystem services
  • Fire

Land and Water Resources

  • Rangeland inventory and monitoring
  • Water resources
  • Biological and cultural resources

Utilisation and management of resources

  • Livestock, wildlife and niche-market production systems
  • Pests and weeds
  • Mining and rehabilitation
  • Tourism and recreation
  • Water management

Conservation of biological and cultural heritage

  • Cultural heritage values
  • Reserve and off-reserve conservation

To download a Flyer about The Rangeland Journal click here

The Journal is published by CSIRO Publishing. A generous discount of 20% on all books purchased from CSIRO Publishing is available to members of the Society. Details on how to obtain this generous discount are in the Members Area.

 

Editor-in-Chief

Dr Paul Novelly
AUSTRALIA
penovelly@gmail.com

 

Associate Editors

Professor Bernard Hubert
National Institute for Agricultural Research, FRANCE
bernard.hubert@avignon.inra.fr

Dr Tony Pressland
University of Queensland, AUSTRALIA
apressla@bigpond.net.au

Dr Mark Stafford-Smith
CSIRO, AUSTRALIA
mark.staffordsmith@csiro.au

Associate Professor R.D.B. 'Wal' Whalley
University of New England, AUSTRALIA
rwhalley@une.edu.au

Associate Professor O. Pauline Dube
University of Botswana, BOTSWANA
dubeop@mopipi.ub.bw

Dr Digby Race
Australian National University, AUSTRALIA
Digby.Race@anu.edu.au

Professor Glenda M. Wardle
The University of Sydney, AUSTRALIA
gwardle@bio.usyd.edu.au

Dr Ian Watson
CSIRO, AUSTRALIA
ian.watson@csiro.au

Professor Anna Cingolani
Córdoba National University, ARGENTINA
acingola@com.uncor.edu

Professor Ling Wang,
Northeast Normal University, CHINA
wangl890@nenu.edu.cn

Professor Fujiang Hou
Lanzhou University, CHINA
cyhoufj@lzu.edu.cn

Assistant Professor Amin Mugera
University of Western Australia, AUSTRALIA
amin.mugera@uwa.edu.au

Dr Matthew Tighe
University of New England, AUSTRALIA
mtighe2@une.edu.au

Dr Steven Mcleod
NSW Department of Primary Industries, AUSTRALIA
steven.mcleod@dpi.nsw.gov.au

Dr Ann Waters-Bayer
Royal Tropical Institute, NETHERLANDS
waters-bayer@web.de

Professor Graciela Metternicht
University of New South Wales, AUSTRALIA
g.metternicht@unsw.edu.au

Dr Steven Bray
QLD Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, AUSTRALIA
steven.bray@daf.qld.gov.au

 

Advisory Editors

Dr Joel Brown
USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service, USA

Dr Margaret H. Friedel
CSIRO, AUSTRALIA

Professor Iain Gordon
James Cook University, AUSTRALIA

Professor Jikun Huang
Peking University, CHINA 

Professor Osvaldo Sala
Arizona State University, USA

Professor Deli Wang
Northeast Normal University, CHINA

Dr Ann Waters-Bayer
Royal Tropical Institute, NETHERLANDS

Dr Iain Wright,
International Livestock Research Institute, ETHIOPIA

Dr Brandon Bestelmeyer,
USDA-ARS Range Management Research Unit, USA

 

The Rangeland Journal is abstracted and/or indexed in Science Citation Index Expanded, ABOA, Agricola, CAB International, The ISI Alerting Services, and Current Contents (Agriculture, Biology and Environmental Sciences).

Manuscripts may be submitted online at www.publish.csiro.au/journals/trj using ScholarOne Manuscripts. Instructions for preparation of manuscripts are available online.